Anti-reflective video wall in Qatar

In a training centre in Qatar, a video wall consisting of several screens was installed in 2018. It turned out, however, that extreme reflections on the screens make it impossible to view the pictures and videos. With the help of Neoxum's reflection-reducing anti-reflective film, the video wall was antireflected and the installation "saved". The video wall can remain on the wall.

In the immediate vicinity is the almost completed football stadium for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Differences in brightness between environment and screen

With a total of 11 screens in sizes ranging from 11 inches to 46 inches, the video screen was installed on a wall opposite large windows flooded with light. After completion of the video screen, however, it turned out that the brightness of the surroundings at approx. 1500 lux (1 lux corresponds to one lumen per square metre) is almost twice as high as the brightness of the professional digital signage displays used (approx. 800 lux).

Reflections of the surroundings on the video screen

The reflections of the surroundings are so pronounced by the bright surroundings with top lights that some visitors can no longer see anything on the displays of the video screen. At least the observation of the highly reflective surfaces is very unpleasant and exhausting.

Project schedule anti-reflection video wall

After analysis and discussion with the customer and the sending of sample materials, the solution with Neoxum anti-glare film proved to be very efficient. Therefore only the question had to be clarified how the displays already installed in Qatar should be equipped with our anti-reflection foil. We were very positively surprised when the customer asked us directly for help: As the manufacturer of the protective film, we should also apply the films ourselves directly to the screens of the video wall in Qatar. Now you don't just drive a few hours by car to Qatar (as the crow flies Qatar - Munich: 4300 km). After clarification of the questions after the outward and return flights, the following topics were discussed:

  • Material transport from Schöngeising to Qatar
  • Auxiliaries, such as cleaning liquids for cleaning the monitors before film mounting. The regulations of the airlines regarding the transport of liquids had to be meticulously observed.
  • Accommodation and transport
  • Schedule and personnel resources: larger displays from approx. 24 inches can be equipped with 2 persons with an anti-reflective film in a much more relaxed manner.
  • Organization of the premises on site: the room air of the room with the video screen is quite dusty by visitors
  • Clarification of the customer requirements regarding size and contour of the anti-glare films to be produced as well as possible dust inclusions during assembly (there was no clean room available).

Our generally valid project procedure is shown below as an example within the framework of our ISO 9001 quality certification. For questions on projects relating to display protection, antireflection coating of large screens or protection against mechanical damage to the surfaces of displays and monitors Contact US, please.

Carrying out the film assembly

After all open questions had been clarified, perfectly cut anti-glare films were sent to Qatar in advance by air freight. In addition there was a whole conglomeration of necessary utensils:

2 rolls of household wipes
2 microfibre cleaning cloths
1 roll of tape
1 Cutter
1 scalpel
1 pair of tweezers
1 probe
1 Measuring tape
1 Antistatic feather duster
1 squeegee large
1 squeegee small
1 felt squeegee 
1 can of distilled water, approx. 3 litres
1 pump spray bottle, large, empty
1 scissors
250 ml antistatic cleaning fluid (registered in advance with the authorities and the airline via data sheet)

The installation of the anti-glare films in Qatar then proved to be a challenge, as there was no room available with the actually necessary low dust load. We solved the problem by mounting the Neoxum foils with floating technology on the individual monitors. This means that the statically adhesive silicone adhesive layer of the protective film is wetted with distilled water and only then is the film applied to the display as a floating film. Due to the water film, large-format protective films can be briefly lifted again with immediately visible dust inclusions and the troublemaker removed. In addition, the thin liquid film facilitated the exact positioning of the large film. The thin liquid film from distilled water evaporates completely and without residues (only distilled water!). At this point, we would like to point out urgently that installation using this method can only be carried out on currentless devices. Complete drying and evaporation must be waited for. With a 46 inch screen, drying takes about 24-48 hours if properly installed and at room temperature.

Result anti-reflection video wall in Qatar

Within two days, the complete video wall was equipped with Neoxum anti-reflective protective films from us on site. Besides the significant reduction of reflections (we took some photos during the work), there was also a very positive side effect.

On site, the customer (and we the customer) pointed out to us that some displays already had some minor damage, such as scratches or small blind spots. After the installation of our professional display protector, these areas were no longer visible! The anti-reflective layer of the Neoxum display film actually "disappears" small damages and scratches. The customer was highly satisfied with the work and the result: finally, the innovative video wall can be viewed without annoying reflections and without effort. Visitors of the Videowall installation will thank you!

Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content

OnScreen ® Hybrid Glass in Extreme Test

We have subjected our glass-hard and nevertheless very flexible bullet-proof glass similar high-tech material to an extreme test. Here's the video.

Video Extreme Test OnScreenHybrid Glass

Videowall in Katar entspiegelt

In einem Ausbildungszentrum in Katar wurde noch in 2018 eine zusammenhängende Videowall aus mehreren Bildschirmen installiert. Es zeigte sich jedoch, dass extreme Spiegelungen auf den Bildschirmen ein Betrachten der Bilder und Videos unmöglich macht. Mit Hilfe der reflektionsreduzierenden Antireflexfolie von Neoxum wurde die Videowall entspiegelt und die Installation “gerettet”. Die Videowall kann an der Wand verbleiben.

In unmittelbarer Nähe das fast fertige Fußballstadion für die Fußballweltmeisterschaft 2022 in Katar.

Unterschiede der Helligkeit zwischen Umgebung und Bildschirm

Mit insgesamt 11 Bildschirmen in den Größen von 11 Zoll bis 46 Zoll wurde die Videoleinwand gegenüber großen lichtdurchfluteten Fenstern an einer Wand installiert. Nach Fertigstellung der Videoleinwand zeigte sich jedoch, dass die Helligkeit der Umgebung mit ca. 1500 Lux (1 Lux entspricht einem Lumen pro Quadratmeter) gegenüber der Helligkeit der eingesetzten professionellen Digital Signage Displays (ca. umgerechnet 800 Lux) fast doppelt so hoch ist.

Spiegelungen der Umgebung auf der Videoleinwand

Die Spiegelungen der Umgebung sind durch die helle Umgebung mit Spitzenlichtern derart stark ausgeprägt, dass Besucher zum Teil auf den Displays der Videoleinwand nichts mehr erkennen können. Zumindest ist die Betrachtung der stark spiegelnden Oberflächen sehr unangenehm und anstrengend.

Projektablauf Entspiegelung Videowall

Nach Analyse und Besprechung mit dem Kunden und der Zusendung von Mustermaterialien, erwies sich die Lösung mit der Neoxum Antiblendfolie als sehr effizient. Somit musste nur noch die Frage geklärt werden, wie die bereits in Katar installierten Displays mit unserer Antireflektionsfolie ausgestattet werden sollten. Wir waren sehr positiv überrascht, als der Kunde uns direkt um Hilfe bat: Als Hersteller der Schutzfolie sollten wir auch direkt selbst die Folien in Katar auf die Bildschirme der Videowand aufbringen. Nun fährt man nicht mal eben schnell ein paar Stunden im Auto nach Katar (Luftlinie Katar – München: 4300 Km). Nach Klärung der Fragen nach den Hin- und Rückflügen wurde folgende Themen abgesprochen:

  • Materialtransport von Schöngeising nach Katar
  • Hilfsmittel, wie Reinigungsflüssigkeiten für die Säuberung der Monitore vor Folienmontage. Die Vorschriften der Airlines zum Thema Transport von Flüssigkeiten mussten penibel eingehalten werden.
  • Unterkunft und Transport
  • Zeitplan und Personalressourcen: größere Displays ab ca. 24 Zoll lassen sich mit 2 Personen deutlich entspannter mit einer Entspiegelungsfolie ausstatten
  • Organisation der Räumlichkeiten vor Ort: die Raumluft des Raumes mit der Videoleinwand ist durch Besucher recht staubig
  • Klärung der Kundenanforderung hinsichtlich Größe und Kontur der zu erstellenden Antiblendfolien, sowie mögliche Staubeinschlüssen während der Montage (es stand kein Reinraum zur Verfügung)

Unser allgemein gültiger Projektablauf ist im Rahmen unserer ISO 9001 Qualitätszertifizierung nachfolgend exemplarisch gezeigt. Bei Fragen zu Projekten zum Thema Displayschutz, Entspiegelung von großflächigen Bildschirmen oder dem Schutz vor mechanischen Schäden an Oberflächen von Displays und Monitoren kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.

Durchführung der Folienmontage

Nach Klärung aller offenen Fragen wurden vorab perfekt passgenau zugeschnittene Antiblendfolien nach Katar per Luftfracht auf die Reise geschickt. Dazu kam noch ein ganzes Sammelsurium an notwendigen Utensilien:

2 Rollen Haushaltstücher
2 Mikrofaser Reinigungstücher
1 Rolle Tesafilm
1 Cutter
1 Skalpell
1 Pinzette
1 Sonde
1 Maßband
1 Antistatischer Staubwedel
1 Rakel groß
1 Rakel klein
1 Filzrakel 
1 Kanister destilliertes Wasser, ca. 3 Liter
1 Pumpsprühflasche, groß, leer
1 Schere
250 ml antistatische Reinigungsflüssigkeit (per Datenblatt vorab bei den Behörden und der Airline angemeldet)

Die Montage der Antiblendfolien in Katar gestaltete sich dann als Herausforderung, da kein Raum mit der eigentlich notwendigen geringen Staubbelastung zur Verfügung stand. Wir lösten das Problem, indem wir die Neoxum Folien mit schwimmender Technik auf die einzelnen Monitore aufzogen. Das bedeutet, dass die statisch haftenden Silikonhaftschicht der Schutzfolie mit destilliertem Wasser benetzt und erst dann die Folie schwimmend auf das Display aufgebracht wird. Auf Grund des Wasserfilms können Schutzfolien im Großformat bei sofort sichtbaren Staubeinschlüssen kurzzeitig wieder angehoben und der Störenfried entfernt werden. Zudem erleichterte der dünne Flüssigkeitsfilm die exakte Positionierung der großen Folie. Der dünne Flüssigkeitsfilm aus destilliertem Wasser verdunstet dabei vollständig und ohne Rückstände (nur Aqua dest.!). Wir möchten an dieser Stelle dringend darauf hinweisen, dass eine Montage nach dieser Methode nur an stromlosen Geräten durchzuführen ist. Ein komplettes Abtrocknen und Verdunsten muss abgewartet werden. Bei einem 46 Zoll Bildschirm dauert das Abtrocknen bei sachgemäßer Montage und Zimmertemperatur ca. 24-48 Stunden.

Ergebnis Entspiegelung Videowall in Katar

Innerhalb von zwei Tagen wurden die komplette Videowand mit Neoxum antireflektierenden Schutzfolien von uns vor Ort ausgestattet. Neben der deutlichen Reduktion von Spiegelungen (wir haben einige Fotos während der Arbeiten gemacht), zeigte sich noch ein sehr positiver Nebeneffekt.

Vor Ort machte uns der Kunde (und wir den Kunden) darauf aufmerksam, dass einige Display bereits einige kleine Beschädigungen, wie z.B. Kratzer oder kleine blinde Stellen aufweisen. Nach dem Aufziehen unseres professionellen Displayschutzes waren diese Stellen nicht mehr zu sehen! Die antireflektierende Schicht der Neoxum Displayfolie lässt kleine Beschädigungen und Kratzer tatsächlich “verschwinden”. Der Kunde war mit der Arbeit und dem Ergebnis höchst zufrieden: endlich kann die innovative Videowall ohne nervige Spiegelungen und ohne Anstrengung betrachtet werden. Besucher der Videowall Installation werden es danken!

Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content

OnScreen ® Hybridglas im Extremtest

Wir haben unser glashartes und dennoch sehr flexibles Panzerglas ähnliches High-Tech Material einem Extremtest unterzogen. Hier das Video.

Video Extremtest OnScreen Hybridglas